38th ASC Awards Winners Announced!

Oppenheimer Cinematographer Hoyte van Hoytema Wins Feature Film Award from American Society of Cinematographers


LOS ANGELES (Mar. 3, 2024) – The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) held its annual awards today with Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC earning the feature film award for Oppenheimer. The 38th ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards, held here at the Beverly Hilton, also honored Warwick Thornton for The New Boy in the Spotlight Award category and Curren Sheldon for the documentary King Coal.

Winners in the television categories included M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel; Ben Kutchins, ASC for Boston Strangler, and Carl Herse for Barry. Jon Joffin, ASC took home the first ASC Award in the inaugural music video category for Jon Bryant’s At Home.

This is van Hoytema’s first ASC Award. He was previously nominated for Dunkirk (2018) and Tinker Tailer Soldier Spy (2012).

Below is the complete list of winners and nominees:

THEATRICAL FEATURE FILM (presented by Lawrence Sher, ASC)
Edward Lachman, ASC for El Conde (Netflix)
Matthew Libatique, ASC, LPS for Maestro (Netflix)
Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC for Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple TV+)
Robbie Ryan, ISC for Poor Things (Searchlight)
Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC for Oppenheimer (Universal Pictures) - WINNER

SPOTLIGHT AWARD (presented by Rodney Taylor, ASC)
Eric Branco for Story Ave. (Kino Lorber)
Krum Rodriguez for Citizen Saint
Warwick Thornton for The New Boy - WINNER

Ricardo Diaz for Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty, “The Second Coming” (Max)
Rob C. Givens for Gotham Knights, “Daddy Issues” (CW)
M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “Four Minutes” (Prime Video) - WINNER
Cathal Watters, ASC, ISC for Foundation, “In Seldon’s Shadow” (Apple TV+)
Glen Keenan for Star Trek: Strange New Worlds, “Hegemony” (Paramount+)

Dan Atherton for Great Expectations, “The Three Keys” (FX)
Sam Chiplin for The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart, “Part 1: Black Fire Orchid” (Prime Video)
Ben Kutchins, ASC for Boston Strangler (Hulu) - WINNER
Igor Martinovic for George and Tammy, “Stand by Your Man” (Showtime)
Jason Oldak for Lessons in Chemistry, “Book of Calvin” (Apple TV+)
Tobias Schliessler, ASC for All the Light We Cannot See, “Episode 2” (Netflix)

EPISODE OF A HALF-HOUR SERIES (presented by Dallas Liu and Ian Ousley)
Julian Court, BSC for The Diplomat, “The James Bond Clause” (Netflix)
Carl Herse for Barry, “Tricky Legacies” (Max) - WINNER
Jon Joffin, ASC for Schmigadoon, “Something Real” (Apple TV+)
Blake McClure, ASC for Minx, “I Thought the Bed was Gonna Fly” (Starz)
Andrew Wehde for The Bear, “The Bear” FX)

DOCUMENTARY AWARD (presented by Alma Har’el)
Jeff Hutchens for Murder in Big Horn, “Episode 1” (Showtime)
Curren Sheldon for King Coal - WINNER
D. Smith for Kokomo City (Magnolia Pictures)

MUSIC VIDEO AWARD (presented by Mark Pellington)
Scott Cunningham, ASC for Gorilla (Performed by Little Simz)
Jon Joffin, ASC for At Home (Performed by Jon Bryant) -WINNER
Andrey Nikoleav for Tanto (Performed Cassie Marin)

This was Mullen’s fifth nomination for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel and his second consecutive win.

Joffin has previously earned ASC Awards for Titans (2022), Motherland: Fort Salem (2020), and Beyond (2019).

Last year’s ASC feature film winner was Mandy Walker, ASC, ACS for Elvis.

Honorary awards at the ceremony included Spike Lee receiving the ASC Board of Governors Award (presented by Matthew Libatique, ASC, Ellen Kuras, ASC; and Ernest Dickerson, ASC) and Don Burgess, ASC was honored with the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award (presented by Robert Zemeckis). Steve Fierberg, ASC was honored with the ASC Career Achievement in Television Award (presented by Sarah Treem). Amy Vincent, ASC received the Presidents Award (presented by Beverly Wood). The Bud Stone Award was presented by ASC President Shelly Johnson to Sony’s Dan Perry.

For more information regarding the ASC Awards, visit the ASC website at www.theasc.com.


About the American Society of Cinematographers

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking. Since its charter in 1919, the ASC has been committed to educating aspiring filmmakers and others about the art and craft of cinematography. For additional information about the ASC, visit www.theasc.com or join American Cinematographer on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram (@the_asc) and (@american_cinematographer).

Media Contacts:
Ignite Strategic Communications
Sally Christgau – [email protected]
Chris Purse – [email protected]