September 2023

Oppenheimer Examined in October Issue of AC

Our October 2023 issue — Vol. 104 No. 10 — presents coverage of the period drama Oppenheimer and the ASC Award-winning documentary All That Breathes; a look at generative AI in filmmaking; updates from the ASC Motion Imaging Technology Council; and a special focus on lighting for horror and tension that includes the fright features The Blackening, Talk to Me, The Exorcist: Believer, Saw X and The Nun II. On our cover: J. Robert Oppenheimer (Cillian Murphy) examines an atomic bomb at the Trinity test site in Oppenheimer, shot by Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC. (Photo by Melinda Sue Gordon, SMPSP, courtesy of Universal Pictures.) Here's a further breakdown on what’s inside the issue: Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC, writer-director...more

AC Oct 2023 Oppenheimer Featurered