2019 Emmy Noms for Best Cinematography Include 10 ASC Members

Game of Thrones breaks record — the Creative Arts Emmy Awards will air Sept. 21; The 71st Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will air Sept. 22.

ASC Staff

Society members Gary BaumJonathan FreemanDana GonzalesDavid Klein, Robert McLachlanDonald A. Morgan, George Mooradian, M. David MullenColin Watkinson and Bradford Young earned 71stAnnual Primetime Emmy nominations for their camerawork, as announced by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences this morning. 

(Download a complete list of nominees in all categories here.)

"It’s great to see such an array of new talent honored for their excellent work,” said Television Academy Chairman and CEO Frank Scherma. “While our voting membership recognized several returning, acclaimed programs, there are many Emmy categories that feature fresh shows and emerging talents, celebrating the opportunity and continued creative growth offered by television.”

Game of Thrones had the most nominations (32) in all categories — a new record — followed by The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (20) and Chernobyl (19). Leading the nominations in totals by platform were HBO (137), Netflix (117) and NBC (58).

Here are the Outstanding Cinematography nominations in all categories:

Outstanding Cinematography For A Multi-Camera Series

The Ranch • “Reckless” • Netflix
Donald A. Morgan, ASC

Rel • “Halloween” • FOX
George Mooradian, ASC 

Will & Grace • “Family, Trip” • NBC
Gary Baum, ASC

Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series (Half-Hour)

Ballers • “Rough Ride” • HBO  
Anthony Hardwick

Fleabag • “Episode 1” • Prime Video
Tony Miller

Homecoming • “Optics” • Prime Video
Tod Campbell 

Insecure • “High-Like” • HBO
Ava Berkofsky

Russian Doll • “Ariadne” • Netflix
Chris Teague 

What We Do In The Shadows • “Manhattan Night Club” • FX Networks D.J. Stipsen

Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series (One Hour)

Game Of Thrones • “The Iron Throne” • HBO
Jonathan Freeman, ASC 

The Handmaid’s Tale • “Holly” • Hulu
Zoë White 

The Handmaid's Tale • “The Word” • Hulu
Colin Watkinson, ASC

Hanna • “Forest” • Prime Video
Dana Gonzales, ASC

The Man In The High Castle • “Jahr Null” • Prime Video
Gonzalo Amat 

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel • “Simone” • Prime Video
M. David Mullen, ASC

Ray Donovan • “Staten Island: Part 1” • Showtime
Robert McLachlan, ASC, CSC

Outstanding Cinematography For A Limited Series Or Movie

Chernobyl • “Please Remain Calm” • HBO
Jakob Ihre, FSF

Deadwood • HBO
David Klein, ASC 

True Detective • “The Great War And Modern Memory” • HBO 

Germain McMicking, ACS

When They See Us • “Part One” • Netflix
Bradford Young, ASC

Outstanding Cinematography For A Nonfiction Program

Anthony Bourdain Parts Unknown • “Bhutan” • CNN
Morgan Fallon, Todd Liebler, Zach Zamboni, 

Free Solo • National Geographic
Jimmy Chin, Clair Popkin, Mikey Schaefer

Our Planet • “Coastal Seas” • Netflix
Doug Anderson, Gavin Thurston

Our Planet • “Jungles” • Netflix • Silverback Films
Alastair MacEwen, Matt Aeberhard

Our Planet • “One Planet”• Netflix
Jamie McPherson, Roger Horrocks

Outstanding Cinematography For A Reality Program

Deadliest Catch • Series Body Of Work • Discovery Channel
David Reichert, Kelvon Agee, Ben Staley, Charlie Beck, Josh Thomas, Shane Moore, Jacob Tawney, Ben Zupo, Eric Babisch, Dave Duce, Bryan Miller, Beth Skabar, Christopher Smith, Jeff Ball, George Desort, Jacob Zavertnik, Jeremy Baron, Ryan Dillow, Jameson Posey, Molly Wilson, Rebecca MacNeice, Nathaniel Chambers, Chris Ho, David Arnold, Nathan Garoflalos

Life Below Zero • Series Body Of Work • National Geographic
Mike Cheeseman, Danny Day, David Lovejoy, Ben Mullin, John Griber, Benji Lanpher, Terry Pratt 

Queer Eye • “God Bless Gay” • Netflix
Garrett Rose

RuPaul's Drag Race • “Trump: The Rusical” • VH1
Jake Kerber

Survivor • Series Body Of Work • CBS
Peter Wery, Russ Fill, Paulo Castillo, Marc Bennett, James Boon, Rodney Chauvin, Lee Doig, Eric Freeburg, Ben Gamble, Kevin Garrison, Derek Hoffmann, Matthias Hoffmann, Toby  Hogan, Efrain "Mofi" Laguna,  Ian Miller, Thomas Pretorius, Jeff Phillips, Louis Powell, Dirk Steyn, John Tattersall, Paulo Velozo, Nico Nyoni, Christopher Barker, Granger Scholtz, David Arnold, Mark Hryma, Scott Duncan

The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will air Saturday, September 21 at 8:00 PM ET/PT on FXX.

The 71st Emmy Awards, will air from the Microsoft Theater at L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles on Sunday, September 22 (8:00-11:00 PM ET live/5:00-8:00 PM PT live) on FOX. 

Read More

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover