2022 Emerging Cinematographer Awards Celebrate New Talents

ASC Members Lawrence Sher and Patti Lee honored for exemplary camerawork and mentorship efforts.

ASC Staff

ASC Members Lawrence Sher and Patti Lee honored for exemplary camerawork and mentorship efforts.

The 24th Annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards (ECA) took place on Sunday, October 2, in the Television Academy’s Wolf Theatre at the Saban Media Center in North Hollywood.

The ECA showcased 10 winning short films, selected from over a hundred submissions. The honorees and their films included Andrew Aiello, Green Cobra; Austin Scott Ahlborg, Lotus; Jason Chau, Sting; Jac Cheairs, KENOBI: A Star Wars Fan Film; Morgan Gardiner, Molly Robber; Eric M. Hurt, Singularity; Allie Schultz, Your Monster; Gregor Tavenner, Pleasant Canyon; Michael P. Tedford, Elder Scrolls: Legends – E3 Trailer; and Leonard P. Walsh ll, Kingsnake.

The International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) honored cinematographer/ director Lawrence Sher, ASC, best known for his films Joker and the Hangover Trilogy, with the Distinguished Filmmaker Award, presented by Panavision.

Lawrence Sher, ASC

Cinematographer Patti Lee, ASC was previously presented with the ASC Cinematography Mentor Award at the ECA Luncheon in the ASC Clubhouse on Friday, September 30, 2022.

Now in its 24th year, the Emerging Cinematographers Awards is the only award show in the industry that specifically celebrates the work of up-and-coming cinematographers, helping to nurture their talent and showcase their work. This non-profit event directly benefits the International Cinematographers Guild Scholarship & Preservation Fund and is a critical part of the Guild’s mission in developing the next generation of cinematographers.

Steven B. Poster, ASC — former president of Local 600 — with honoree Patti Lee, ASC.

The chairs of the Guild’s ECA committee are cinematographers Steven Poster, ASC, past ICG National President,and Jimmy Matlosz. ICG's ECAs give Local 600 members an opportunity to present themselves as directors of photography by submitting a short film with a running time of 30 minutes or less for consideration. The awards are open to any member of the Guild who is not already classified as a director of photography. The films are selected by a panel of ICG members from across the country and can also be seen by a wider audience at selected film festivals throughout the year, including Camerimage in Poland.

The ICG Emerging Cinematographers Awards are sponsored by Premier: Panavision Family of Companies; Platinum: Chapman/Leonard Studio Equipment; Gold: Sony, The Studio-B&H, TRP Worldwide, ZEISS Cinematography; Silver: Picture Shop, Band Pro, Aputure, The Tiffen Company, Sigma Corporation, Quasar Science; Bronze: ARRI, Fujifilm, JL Fisher, Inc., Rosco, AbelCine, Kino Flo, Matthews Studio Equipment; Partners: American Society of Cinematographers, Cine Gear Expo, Deluxe, DF Studio, Fourth Dimension Events, ICG Magazine, Mill Valley Film Festival, NAB, Production Hub, Screen International, SHOOT, The Hollywood Reporter, The Wrap and Variety.

Read More

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover