Nominations Announced for NFTS Cinematography Award

Nominees for the Sue Gibson, BSC Cinematography Award include Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC.

Samantha Dillard

The National Film and Television School — located in Buckinghamshire, England — announced the nominees for the second-annual Sue Gibson, BSC Cinematography Award, which recognizes a NFTS cinematography alumni who has advanced the profession of cinematography in a significant way.

The 2018 nominees include (above photo, from left):

The award celebrates the legacy of Sue Gibson, BSC, who was the first female member of the British Society of Cinematographers and the organization’s first female president.

“Sue Gibson was a trailblazer. She achieved a number of female firsts as a cinematographer,” said NFTS director Jon Wardle. “Our cinematography alumni have had a remarkable 12 months, winning Oscars and BAFTAs and earning Emmy nominations. I am also particularly proud of the fact that half of the female members of the BSC were trained at this school, [which is] something that I think is fitting as a legacy for Sue, the first female president of the BSC.”

Read More

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover