2023 ASC Student Awards

Supporting the next generation of cinematographers

The American Society of Cinematographers has announced the 2023 ASC Student Heritage Awards nominees. The awards are just one of many educational programs offered by the organization to support a new generation of talent in the early stages of their filmmaking careers.

To be considered, a student’s undergraduate, graduate or documentary project is submitted and judged by an ASC blue-ribbon panel for demonstrating exceptional cinematographic skill. Each year, the ASC Student Heritage Awards honor the memory of esteemed ASC members who exemplified the highest standards of what it means to be a dedicated member of the organization.

Contenders for the 2023 ASC Student Heritage Awards, sponsored this year by Sony were announced on August 31st, 2023 by Student Awards Committee Co-chairs Craig Kief and Armando Salas, introduced by ASC President Shelly Johnson:

Owen Roizman Student Heritage Award - Graduate Category

Timur Guseynov for Seraphim (University of Southern California)
Borneo Sedeu Nishevikj for Gnomes (Jacksonville University)
WINNER: Hannah Platzer for Im Finstern (American Film Institute)
Isue Shin for Dosh (American Film Institute)
Madilyn Macy Witherspoon for The Sunlight from Your Tongue (Florida State University)

George Spiro Dibie Heritage Award - Undergraduate Category

Ariano Trevino Angelone for Sammy, Without Strings (University of North Carolina School of
the Arts)
WINNER: Thomas Bolles for Drawn into Darkness (Loyola Marymount University)
Joshua Campbell for The Chaperone (University of North Carolina School of the Arts)
Scott Larson for Relapse (Chapman University)
David Zhang for The Butterflies of Love (Chapman University)
Yu (Jason) Zheng for Promises, Promises (Loyola Marymount University)

Haskell Wexler Documentary Category

WINNER: Matthew Cheung for Balancing Act (Loyola Marymount University)
Robert Denfeld for California Light (University of California Los Angeles)
Christopher MacPherson for My Years with Prospero (Emerson College)
Jon McCormack for Down the Road (University of Southern California)