ASC Members Join Camerimage 2017 Juries

A strong contingent of 14 Society members will help judge nine different competitions held Nov. 11-18

ASC Staff

A strong contingent of 14 ASC members will help judge nine different competitions held during the upcoming 25th edition of the Camerimage International Film Festival, being held in Bydgoszcz, Poland, on November 11-18.

The participating ASC members are: Stuart Dryburgh, Stephen Goldblatt, Ed Lachman, Denis Lenoir, Stephen Lighthill, Karl Walter Lindenlaub, Anastas N. Michos, Charles Minsky, Claudio Miranda, Crescenzo Notarile, Steven Poster, Roberto Schaefer, Lisa Wiegand and Mark H. Weingartner

Also of major note, John Toll, ASC will receive this year's Camerimage Lifetime Achievement Award.

Here’s the complete rundown of Camerimage competitions and the jurors involved, which includes an impressive array of international filmmakers from many disciplines, which will help bring unique perspectives to the proceedings:


Michael Apted – Jury President (director, screenwriter; Coal Miner's Daughter, Gorillas in the Mist: The Story of Dian Fossey, The World Is Not Enough)

Christian Berger, AAC (cinematographer; The White Ribbon, By the Sea, Happy End)

Stuart Dryburgh, ASC/NZCS (cinematographer; The Piano, We Were Soldiers, The Secret Life of Walter Mitty)

Stephen Goldblatt, ASC/BSC (cinematographer; Lethal Weapon, Closer, Our Souls at Night)

Karl Walter Lindenlaub, ASC (cinematographer; Rob Roy, Independence Day, Black Book)

Anastas N. Michos, ASC (cinematographer; Man on the Moon, Mona Lisa Smile, The Keeping Hours)

Heather Stewart (Creative director at the British Film Institute)


Brad Silberling – Jury President (director, producer, writer; Casper, City of Angels, A Series of Unfortunate Events)

Andrew Dunn, BSC (cinematographer; The Bodyguard, The Madness of King George, The Butler)

Denis Lenoir, AFC/ASC (cinematographer; Demonlover, Angel, Eden)

Claudio Miranda, ASC (cinematographer; The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Life of Pi, Only the Brave)

Mark H. Weingartner, ASC (visual effects supervisor; Inception, The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Interstellar)


Phillip Noyce – Jury President (director, screenwriter; Newsfront, Patriot Games, Rabbit-Proof Fence)

Markus Förderer, BVK (cinematographer; Hell, I Origins, Independence Day: Resurgence)

Magdalena Górka, PSC (cinematographer; Paranormal Activity 3, Jack Strong, An Ordinary Man)

Steven Poster, ASC/CSC (cinematographer; Rocky V, Donnie Darko, Amityville: The Awakening)

Michelle Schumacher (director, actress; The Floor, The Boy, I'm Not Here)


Jay Rosenblatt - Jury President (director, producer, editor; Human Remains, Phantom Limb, The Darkness of Day)

Sheila Curran Bernard (writer, producer; Slavery by Another Name, Bad Blood, Inside Story)

John Davey (cinematographer; La danse, Boxing Gym, In Jackson Heights)

Karen Konicek (Executive producer and director of distribution for Zipporah Films)

Kristine Samuelson (director, producer; Arthur and Lillie, Underground Zero, Tokyo Waka)


Steven Okazaki - Jury President (director, screenwriter, producer; Days of Waiting, White Light/Black Rain: The Destruction of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, Black Tar Heroin: The Dark End of the Street)

Larry Blake (Supervising sound editor, re-recording mixer, post-production supervisor; Out of Sight, Traffic, Magic Mike)

Louis-Philippe Capelle, IMAGO (cinematographer; Black Island, Pardon Cupidon, Innocents Abroad)

Rainer Klausmann, BVK/SCS (cinematographer; The Experiment, The Baader Meinhof Complex, In the Fade)

Lisa Wiegand, ASC (cinematographer; Dollhouse, American Crime, Chicago Justice)


Wayne Isham – Jury President (director, cinematographer; Metallica's Enter Sandman, Bon Jovi's You Give Love a Bad Name, Britney Spears's Piece of Me)

Lois Burwell (make-up artist; Braveheart, Saving Private Ryan, The Last Samurai)

Martin Coppen (cinematographer; Marilyn Manson's The Dope Show, Sarah McLachlan's Fallen, Lenny Kravitz's Fly Away)

Richard N. Gladstein (producer; Reservoir Dogs, The Bourne Identity, Finding Neverland)

Ed Lachman, ASC (cinematographer; Far from Heaven, Carol, Wonderstruck)


Jim Stark – Jury President (producer; Mystery Train, The Living End, Factotum)

Richard Andry, AFC (cinematographer: La Java des ombres, Saigon Eclipse, Marie Antoinette)

Andrzej Krakowski (director, screenwriter, producer; The California Reich, Looking for Palladin, Campfire Stories)

Márta Mészáros (director, screenwriter; Adoption, Diary for My Children, The Seventh Room)

Charles Minsky, ASC (cinematographer; Pretty Woman, The Producers, Mother's Day)


Roberto Schaefer, ASC/AIC – Jury President (cinematographer; Finding Neverland, The Paperboy, Geostorm)

Jim Plannette (gaffer; E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial, Syriana, The Artist)

Janusz Gauer, PSC (cinematographer; Deja vu, Call Me Rockefeller, V.I.P)

Franziska Stöhr (curator, lecturer)

Stephen Lighthill, ASC (cinematographer; Gimme Shelter, Berkeley in the Sixties, Nash Bridges)


Jan Roelfs – Jury President (production designer; Gattaca, Alexander, Ghost in the Shell)

Anna Katharina Brehm (producer, organizer of Seriencamp Conference)

Len Collin (writer, director; Holby City, Eastenders, Sanctuary)

Eric Kress, DFF (cinematographer; The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Borgen, Colossal)

Crescenzo Notarile, ASC/AIC (cinematographer; Gotham, CSI: Crime Scene Investigation, Ghost Whisperer)


Bartek Cierlica (cinematographer, director; Grobari)

Artur Jabłoński (E-marketing consultant, trainer)

Jan Majle (copywriter, creative director)

Read More

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover