ASC Technology Committee Progress Report 2014

Report Authors  
Curtis Clark, ASC; David Reisner; Lou Levinson; Al Barton; Greg Ciaccio; Gary Demos; Don Eklund; Michael Karagosian; Garrett Smith; Michael Friend; David Morin 

ASC Technology Committee Officers
Chair: Curtis Clark, ASC 
Vice-Chair: Richard Edlund, ASC 
Vice-Chair: Steven Poster, ASC 
Secretary: David Reisner, D-Cinema Consulting 

From its inception in 2003, the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Technology Committee has been guided by its primary mission to engage and influence motion imaging technology developments in ways that better serve and protect the filmmaker’s creative intent and the role of the cinematographer in realizing a creative vision that best serves that creative intent.

In the year that has passed since our last ASC Technology Committee progress report for the SMPTE Motion Imaging Journal, we have experienced an array of motion imaging technology developments that provide a promising view of our filmmaking future, but also present a challenging road map to achieve it. Central among these developments are technology advances in laser projection; new enhancements to digital display technology, i.e., High Dynamic Range (HDR) Reproduction aka Extended Dynamic Range (EDR) Reproduction for both monitors and laser projection; Ultra-high-definition-television (UHDTV), aka Quad HD, aka 4K TV; a new wide gamut color space, Rec. 2020, to accompany UHDTV; and, of course, Academy Color Encoding System (ACES) development. Details of the work being done by our ASC Technology Committee to address these developments is contained in our subcommittee reports that follow.

Digital camera technology continues to evolve with various vendors entering the production scene offering new 4K cameras. Although 4K workflow solutions have also been evolving, there is still the challenge of deploying high-capacity storage integrated with greater bandwidth for SAN and NAS infrastructure to manage large file sizes that accommodate 4K RAW. The transition to 4K workflows for both Digital Cinema and “4K” TV has generated renewed interest in highest quality compression codecs.

I’m delighted to report that our ASC CDL (Color Decision List) was recognized by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) with Academy Technical Achievement Awards presented at this year’s Sci-Tech Awards ceremony to five ASC Technology Committee members: Joshua Pines; David Reisner; Lou Levinson; David Register; and me. This was a tremendous honor to add to the 2012 Primetime Emmy Engineering Award that the ASC received from the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences for ASC CDL development work done by our ASC Technology Committee. These awards should also acknowledge valuable contributions from numerous ASC Technology Committee members to ASC CDL development.

ASC Technology Committee member David Stump’s important new book “Digital Cinematography” has recently been published.

I would like to thank all those who devote their time and expertise to support the mission of our ASC Technology Committee. 

Curtis Clark, ASC 
ASC Technology Committee Chair