2018 Emmy Winners — Three ASC Members Earn Awards

In their respective categories, ASC members Adriano Goldman, Ellen Kuras and Gary Baum took home trophies for exceptional camerawork.

ASC Staff

In their respective Academy of Television Art & Sciences categories, ASC members Adriano GoldmanEllen Kuras and Gary Baum (seen above) took home trophies for exceptional camerawork during the 2018 Creative Arts Emmy Awards Show, which took place in Los Angeles at the Microsoft Theater on September 15 and 16. 

The Creative Arts Emmys spotlight key technical disciplines and behind-the-scenes crafts, such as production design, casting, cinematography, costumes, hairstyling, makeup, lighting design, music, picture editing, sound editing and mixing, special visual effects, stunts, title design and more.

This marks the third year in which the Creative Arts has been divided into two ceremonies. At the Saturday show, the emphasis was on scripted programming; Sunday honored unscripted and documentary programming.

Below are the complete Outstanding Cinematography categories for television (winners first, in bold). AC will soon be presenting interviews with each winner discussing their work.

Outstanding Cinematography For A Multi-Camera Series

Gary Baum, ASC
Will & Grace • “A Gay Olde Christmas” • NBC • Universal Television

Donald A. Morgan, ASC The Ranch • “Do What You Gotta Do” • Netflix • A Netflix Original Production

Patti Lee Superior Donuts • “Grades Of Wrath” • CBS • CBS Television Studios

Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series (Half-Hour)

Christian Sprenger
Atlanta • “Teddy Perkins” • FX Networks • FX Productions

Paula Huidobro
Barry • “Chapter Eight: Know Your Truth” • HBO • HBO Entertainment in association with Alec Berg and Hanarply

Justin Brown
The End Of The F***ing World • “Episode 3” • Netflix • Clerkenwell Films / Dominic Buchanan Productions

Christian Sprenger
GLOW • Pilot • Netflix • Glitter Pictures, LLC

Patrick Cady, ASC
Insecure • “Hella LA” • HBO • HBO Entertainment in association with Issa Rae Productions, A Penny For Your Thoughts Entertainment , 3 Arts Entertainment

Tobias Datum
Mozart In The Jungle • “Ichi Go Ichi E” • Prime Video • Amazon Studios

Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series (One Hour)

Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC
The Crown • “Beryl” • Netflix • Left Bank Pictures in association wit h Sony Pictures Television

Colin Watkinson
The Handmaid's Tale • “June” • Hulu • MGM, Hulu, The Littlefield Company, White Oak Pictures, Daniel Wilson Productions

Dana Gonzales, ASC
Legion • “Chapter 9” • FX Networks • FX Product ions and Marvel Television

M. David Mullen, ASC
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel • Pilot • Prime Video • Amazon Studios

Ben Kutchins
Ozark • “The Toll” • Netflix • Media Rights Capital

Tim Ives, ASC Stranger Things • “Chapter One: MADMAX” • Netflix • A Netflix Original Production 

John Grillo
Westworld • “The Riddle Of The Sphinx” • HBO • HBO Entertainment in association with Kilter Films, Bad Robot, Warner Bros. Television

Outstanding Cinematography For A Limited Series Or Movie

Mathias Herndl Genius: Picasso • “Chapter One” • National Geographic • Imagine Television and Fox 21 Television Studios

PJ Dillon, ISC
The Alienist • “The Boy On The Bridge” • TNT • A Paramount Television and Turner's Studio T co-production

Kramer Morgenthau, ASC
Fahrenheit 451 • HBO • HBO Films in association with Brace Cove, Noruz Films, Outlier Society Productions

Steven Meizler
Godless • “An Incident At Creede” • Netflix • A Netflix Original Production 

Peter Deming, ASC
Twin Peaks • “Part 8” • Showtime • Rancho Rosa Partnership, Inc.

Stephan Pehrsson
Black Mirror • “USS Callister” • Netflix • House of Tomorrow

Outstanding Cinematography For A Nonfiction Program

Ellen Kuras, ASC; Hugo van Lawick (archival photography) Jane • National Geographic • National Geographic Studios in association with Public Road Productions

Morgan Fallon, Jerry Risius, Tarik Hameedi 
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown • “Lagos” • CNN • CNN Original Series and Zero Point Zero Production, Inc.

Gavin Thurston
Blue Planet II • “The Deep” • BBC America • BBC Studios and The Natural History Unit in co-production with BBC America, Tencent, WDR, France Télévisions, CCTV9

Ted Giffords, Roger Munns
Blue Planet II • “One Ocean” • BBC America • BBC Studios and The Natural History Unit in co-production with BBC America, Tencent , WDR, France Télévisions, CCTV9

Adam Bricker
Chef’s Table • “Corrado Assenza” • Netflix • Boardwalk Pictures

Outstanding Cinematography For A Reality Program

Danny Day, John Griber, Mike Cheeseman, Simeon Houtman, Terry Pratt (cinematographers); Rob Gowler, David Lovejoy, Ben Mullin (operators) Life Below Zero • Series Body Of Work • National Geographic Page B 8BC Studios 

Joshua Gitersonke, Alan Weeks, Ryan Shaw, David D'Angelo, Petr Cikhart 
The Amazing Race
 • “It’s Just A Million Dollars,” No Pressure • CBS • WorldRace Productions, Inc.

Bruce Ready
Born This Way • “Homecoming” • A&E • Bunim/Murray Productions

David Reichert , Charlie Beck, Kelvon Agee, Ben Staley, Josh Thomas 
Deadliest Catch • Battle Lines • Discovery Channel • Original Productions, LLC

Garrett Rose
Queer Eye • “To Gay Or Not Too Gay” • Netflix • Scout Product ions, Inc. and ITV Entertainment , LLC

Michael Jacob Kerber
RuPaul's Drag Race • “10s Across The Board” • VH1 • World of Wonder Productions

Of note, the Television Academy will present the Engineering Emmy Awards on Wednesday, October 24, 2018, at a location to be announced.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover