Academy Honors Neil, Tiffen

Rachael Bosley

ASC associate members Iain A. Neil and Steve Tiffen are among the 58 individuals honored for scientific and technical achievement by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences this year.

Neil shares a Scientific and Engineering Award with colleague Andre de Winter for the design of Leica's Summilux-C lenses. Neil was the optical designer and de Winter was the mechanical designer.

Tiffen shares an Academy Award of Commendation with colleagues Jeff Cohen and Michael Fecik for the development of IR filters, which reduce infrared contamination when ND filters are used with digital cameras.

The Academy Sci-Tech Awards ceremony will take place Feb. 7 at the Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills.


2015 Academy Sci-Tech Honorees

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover