First Annual IMAGO International Awards For Cinematography Celebrates Excellence

ASC members Seamus McGarvey, Fabian Wagner and Luciano Tovoli among those honored at inaugural IMAGO event.

On October 28, some 250 international cinematographers and related colleagues and friends gathered in Helsinki to celebrate the art and craft of cinematography.

More than 100 films were entered into the IMAGO competition, and 26 jurors — all internationally respected cinematographers — determined the winners.

The winners of the inaugural IMAGO International Awards for Cinematography are:

Best cinematography in Feature films:
Seamus McGarvey BSC ASC
Nocturnal Animals

Best cinematography in TV Drama:
Fabian Wagner BSC ASC 
Game of Thrones, episode “The Winds of Winter”

Best cinematography in documentary films:
Łukasz Żal PSC 

The ARRI – IMAGO Award for Emerging Talent in Cinematography
Daniil Fomichev
How Viktor “Garlic” took Alexey “The Stud” to the nursing home

IMAGO International Award for Extraordinary Technical Achievemement
Jannicke Mikkelsen FNF 
Joe Dunton BSC

IMAGO Award for Lifetime Contribution to the Art of Cinematography
Marek Zydowicz

IMAGO International Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cinematography
Luciano Tovoli AIC ASC

You'll find more detail and photos here on the IMAGO site.

Proud Award winners, the IMAGO Award sponsor partners and the IMAGO Award organizing team on stage. Photo by Alejandro Lorenzo


Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

Print Edition   Digital Edition
December 2022 AC Magazine Cover November 2022 AC Magazine Cover October 2022 AC Magazine Cover