Members Turn Out for ASC Open House 2020

​The Society welcomes some 900 guests to meet and greet members and 34th Annual ASC Awards honorees and nominees.

Event photos by Stephen Pizzello

Beginning early on the morning of Saturday, January 18, with a special breakfast and panel discussion with attending ASC Awards honorees, the annual ASC Open House was a smash success in welcoming the public to the historic Clubhouse in Hollywood.

The Clubhouse is prepped for a large crowd — the annual Open House is one of the ASC's biggest events.

Sponsored by Keslow Camera, the event drew some 900 guests — many students or aspiring cinematographers — eager to meet and talk with the many ASC members and ASC Awards honorees and nominees in attendance.

ASC President Kees van Oostrum makes opening remarks.
Discussion moderator and AC contributor Jim Hemphill introduces the panel for the Breakfast discussion: International Award honoree Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC; Board of Governors honoree Don McCuaig, ASC and Career Achievement in Television honoree Donald A. Morgan, ASC.
The assembled guests for the pre-Open House discussion.
McCuaig and Morgan share stories about their beginnings.
With the discussion opened up to questions from the audience, Larry Sher, ASC — nominated this year for his camerawork in Joker — stepped up to the mic.

In addition to ASC President Kees van Oostrum, Society members in attendance included Mat Beck, Bill Bennett, Oliver Bokelberg, Natasha Braier, James Chressanthis, Chris Chomyn, Jeff Cronenweth, Richard Crudo, David Darby, Roger Deakins, Bruno Delbonnel, Tom Houghton, Gil Hubbs, Shane Hurlbut, Mark Irwin, Shelly Johnson, Jacek Laskus, Charlie Lieberman, Stephen Lighthouse, Julio Macat, Don McCuaig, Suki Medencevic, Chuck Minsky, Donald A. Morgan, George Mooradian, Peter Moss, M. David Mullen, Michael Negrin, James Neihouse, Yuri Neyman, Jules O'Loughlin, Phedon Papamichael, Daniel Pearl, Lowell Peterson, Bob Primes, Chris Probst, Rodrigo Prieto, Cynthia Pusheck, Steven Shaw, Larry Sher, John Simmons, Eric Steelberg, Checco Varese, Amelia Vincent and Steve Yedlin.

Here are some additional photos from the day. Note that the ASC Open House is a free event that everyone can attend, and is traditionally held the Saturday before the ASC Awards ceremony. Be sure to attend this exceptional event next year if you can.

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC speaks to attendees about his ASC Award-nominated with in the World War I drama 1917.
Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC speaks to attendees about his ASC Award-nominated with in the World War I drama 1917.


Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

Print Edition   Digital Edition
December 2022 AC Magazine Cover November 2022 AC Magazine Cover October 2022 AC Magazine Cover