Okada Elected to AMPAS Board of Governors

Rachael Bosley

Daryn Okada, ASC (Credit: Owen Roizman, ASC)
Daryn Okada, ASC (Photo by Owen Roizman, ASC)

Daryn Okada, ASC, has been elected to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences Board of Governors for the 2015-16 term. A first-time governor, Okada joins fellow ASC members and continuing governors John Bailey and Caleb Deschanel in representing the Cinematographers Branch.

The Academy’s 17 branches are each represented by three governors, who may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms. Okada replaces Dante Spinotti, ASC, AIC, whose term expired this year.

Although Okada is a new governor, he has actively participated in AMPAS events and initiatives for several years. He has served on the Science & Technology Council for nine years, and on the Sci-Tech Academy Awards Committee and the Cinematographers Branch Executive Committee for 11 years. He co-chaired the test film for the Solid State Lighting Project, and has served on both the jury for the Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting and the Nominating Committee for the Feature Animation Academy Award.

Okada's contributions to AMPAS public programs include joining a Mean Girls panel for the High-School Media Literacy program, serving on the Academy ACES 1.0 panel at NAB this year, and participating in Q&As for the events "Astronaut As Filmmaker" and "Costume Design in the Digital Age."

Okada is a past president of the ASC and currently serves on the ASC Board of Governors.


AMPAS 2015-16 Board of Governors

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover