2018 Emmy Noms for Best Cinematography Include 9 ASC Members

ASC’s Gary Baum, Patrick Cady, Peter Deming, Adriano Goldman, Dana Gonzales, Elllen Kuras, Donald A. Morgan, Kramer Morgenthau and M. David Mullen are honored among their peers.

ASC Staff

ASC members Gary Baum, Patrick Cady, Peter Deming, Adriano Goldman, Dana Gonzales, Ellen KurasDonald A. Morgan, Kramer Morgenthau and M. David Mullen earned 2018 Primetime Emmy nominations for their camerawork that aired between June 1, 2017 and May 31, 2018, as announced by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences this morning. 

(Download a complete list of nominees in all categories here.)

"It has been another record-breaking year with more than 9,100 entries in 122 unique categories for the initial nomination round of voting,” said Television Academy Chairman and CEO Hayma Washington. “The continued growth of the industry has provided opportunities for acclaimed new programs to emerge, while allowing last season’s break-through programs to thrive. In addition, 36 performers — ranging from new discoveries to revered international stars — have received their first-ever acting Emmy nomination across all categories of scripted programming. We are honored to recognize both television’s seasoned veterans and rising talents.

“This year’s nominations continue to represent increased diversity and inclusion in front of the camera. And, there is a wealth of new and returning programs that reflect so many of today’s critical issues.”

Game Of Thrones had the most nominations (22) in all categories, followed by Saturday Night Live (21) and Westworld (21). Leading the nominations in totals by platform were Netflix (112), HBO (108) and NBC (78).

Here’s breakdown on the Outstanding Cinematography nominations:

Outstanding Cinematography For A Multi-Camera Series

Donald A. Morgan, ASC
The Ranch • “Do What You Gotta Do” • Netflix • A Netflix Original Production

Patti Lee
Superior Donuts • “Grades Of Wrath” • CBS • CBS Television Studios

Gary Baum, ASC
Will & Grace • “A Gaye Olde Christmas” • NBC • Universal Television

Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series (Half-Hour)

Christian Sprenger
Atlanta • “Teddy Perkins” • FX Networks • FX Productions

Paula Huidobro
Barry • “Chapter Eight: Know Your Truth” • HBO • HBO Entertainment in association with Alec Berg and Hanarply

Justin Brown
The End Of The F***ing World • “Episode 3” • Netflix • Clerkenwell Films / Dominic Buchanan Productions

Christian Sprenger
GLOW • Pilot • Netflix • Glitter Pictures, LLC

Patrick Cady, ASC
Insecure • “Hella LA” • HBO • HBO Entertainment in association with Issa Rae Productions, A Penny For Your Thoughts Entertainment , 3 Arts Entertainment

Tobias Datum
Mozart In The Jungle • “Ichi Go Ichi E” • Prime Video • Amazon Studios

Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series (One Hour)

Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC
The Crown • “Beryl” • Netflix • Left Bank Pictures in association wit h Sony Pictures Television

Colin Watkinson
The Handmaid's Tale • “June” • Hulu • MGM, Hulu, The Littlefield Company, White Oak Pictures, Daniel Wilson Productions

Dana Gonzales, ASC
Legion • “Chapter 9” • FX Networks • FX Product ions and Marvel Television

M. David Mullen, ASC
The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel • Pilot • Prime Video • Amazon Studios

Ben Kutchins
Ozark • “The Toll” • Netflix • Media Rights Capital

Tim Ives, ASC*
Stranger Things • “Chapter One: MADMAX” • Netflix • A Netflix Original Production 

John Grillo
Westworld • “The Riddle Of The Sphinx” • HBO • HBO Entertainment in association with Kilter Films, Bad Robot, Warner Bros. Television

Outstanding Cinematography For A Limited Series Or Movie

PJ Dillon, ISC
The Alienist • “The Boy On The Bridge” • TNT • A Paramount Television and Turner's Studio T co-production

Kramer Morgenthau, ASC
Fahrenheit 451 • HBO • HBO Films in association with Brace Cove, Noruz Films, Outlier Society Productions

Mathias Herndl
Genius: Picasso • “Chapter One” • National Geographic • Imagine Television and Fox 21 Television Studios

Steven Meizler
Godless • “An Incident At Creede” • Netflix • A Netflix Original Production 

Peter Deming, ASC
Twin Peaks • “Part 8” • Showtime • Rancho Rosa Partnership, Inc.

Stephan Pehrsson
Black Mirror • “USS Callister” • Netflix • House of Tomorrow

Outstanding Cinematography For A Nonfiction Program

Morgan Fallon, Jerry Risius, Tarik Hameedi 
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown • “Lagos” • CNN • CNN Original Series and Zero Point Zero Production, Inc.

Gavin Thurston
Blue Planet II • “The Deep” • BBC America • BBC Studios and The Natural History Unit in co-production with BBC America, Tencent, WDR, France Télévisions, CCTV9

Ted Giffords, Roger Munns
Blue Planet II • “One Ocean” • BBC America • BBC Studios and The Natural History Unit in co-production with BBC America, Tencent , WDR, France Télévisions, CCTV9

Adam Bricker
Chef’s Table • “Corrado Assenza” • Netflix • Boardwalk Pictures

Ellen Kuras, ASC; Hugo van Lawick (archival photography)
Jane • National Geographic • National Geographic Studios in association with Public Road Productions

Outstanding Cinematography For A Reality Program

Joshua Gitersonke, Alan Weeks, Ryan Shaw, David D'Angelo, Petr Cikhart 
The Amazing Race • “It’s Just A Million Dollars,” No Pressure • CBS • WorldRace Productions, Inc.

Bruce Ready
Born This Way • “Homecoming” • A&E • Bunim/Murray Productions

David Reichert , Charlie Beck, Kelvon Agee, Ben Staley, Josh Thomas 
Deadliest Catch • Battle Lines • Discovery Channel • Original Productions, LLC

Danny Day, John Griber, Mike Cheeseman, Simeon Houtman, Terry Pratt (cinematographers); Rob Gowler, David Lovejoy, Ben Mullin (operators)
Life Below Zero • Series Body Of Work • National Geographic Page B 8BC Studios 

Garrett Rose
Queer Eye • “To Gay Or Not Too Gay” • Netflix • Scout Product ions, Inc. and ITV Entertainment , LLC

Michael Jacob Kerber
RuPaul's Drag Race • “10s Across The Board” • VH1 • World of Wonder Productions

The Television Academy’s membership has increased this year to more than 25,000, of which 23,000+ are voting members. That body welcomed more than 1,000 new voting members this year.

Final-round online voting begins August 13.

The 70th annual Emmy Awards will will telecast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on Monday, September 17, (8:00 - 11:00 PM ET/5:00 - 8:00 PM PT) on NBC.

* Note that Tim Ives became a member of the ASC after this nominations announcement was made.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover