AMPAS Invitees for 2018 Include 30 Cinematographers; 3 ASC Members

The expansive list continues the Academy's effort to expand, and includes Society members Dana Gonzales, Matthew Jensen and Michael McDonough.

ASC Staff

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has invited a record 928 film professionals to join their ranks. (In 2017, AMPAS invited 774, compared to 683 in 2016 and 322 in 2015.) If all 2018 invitees accept, this would bring total AMPAS membership to more than 9,200.

The new inductees represent 59 countries and are roughly half female, which could raise the percentage of female members to 31%. 

Some 38% of this new group is also represented by people of color, which could potentially bring the overall AMPAS percentage to 16%.

Among them are 17 Oscar winners and 92 nominees who have earned 103 nominations.

Notably for cinematography, 30 of the new inductees are working directors of photography, including ASC members Dana Gonzales, Matthew Jensen and Michael McDonough:

Thimios Bakatakis – The Killing of a Sacred Deer, The Lobster

Christophe Beaucarne – Django, Mr. Nobody

Giora Bejach – Foxtrot, Lebanon

Céline Bozon – Félicité, Black Heaven

Bobby Bukowski – The Dinner, The Messenger

Benjamín Echazarretta – A Fantastic Woman, Gloria

Bonnie Elliott – Spear, Teenage Kicks

Tommaso Fiorilli – The Insult, Go Home

Peter Flinckenberg – Woodshock, Every Other Couple

David Gallego – Siete Cabezas (The Sacrifice), Embrace of the Serpent

Dana Gonzales, ASC – Shot Caller, Incarnate

Máté Herbai – On Body and Soul, Well

Paula Huidobro – Oh Lucy!, Permanent

Hossein Jafarian – Sara and Ayda, The Salesman

Matthew Jensen, ASC – Wonder Woman, Fantastic Four

Rainer Klausmann – In the Fade, Diana

Mikhail Krichman – Loveless, Leviathan

Irina Lubtchansky – Ismael’s Ghosts, My Golden Days

Pedro Luque – Desiree (Dermaphoria), Don’t Breathe

Mihai Mălaimare – November Criminals, A Walk among the Tombstones

Claire Mathon – A Violent Life, Staying Vertical

Michael McDonough, ASC – Leave No Trace, Winter’s Bone

Anil Mehta – Secret Superstar, Rockstar

Sayombhu Mukdeeprom – Call Me by Your Name, Antonia

Urszula Pontikos – Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool, Second Coming

Jonathan Sela – Atomic Blonde, Transformers: The Last Knight

Warwick Thornton – Sweet Country, Septembers of Shiraz

Quyen Tran – The Little Hours, The Automatic Hate

Fredrik Wenzel – The Square, Force Majeure

Alexis Zabé – The Florida Project, Post Tenebras Lux

You’ll find the complete breakdown and detail on each invitee here

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover
April 2024 AC Magazine Cover