ASC Accepting Submissions for Television Awards

Timeline of events and deadlines for the Society’s 34th Annual Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography is set and a new Documentary category added.

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is now accepting entries for the television categories of the 34th Annual ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography. Winners will be announced at the organization’s gala on January 25, 2020, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland

The three ASC television categories include: 

• Episode of a Television Series – Commercial (half hour and one hour)
• Episode of a Television Series – Non-Commercial (half hour and one hour)
• Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for TV

To qualify, shows must have a premiere date in the United States between November 1, 2018, and September 30, 2019. The deadline to enter is October 4, 2019, by 5 p.m. PST. 

Entry forms can be downloaded at here on the ASC website. 

In addition to TV and feature categories, a new documentary category will also be introduced at the 34th ASC Awards. The ASC Documentary Award will recognize exceptional cinematography in nonfiction filmmaking. Eligible documentaries include features and episodes that are 30 minutes or longer, and are released in theaters, film festivals, or on broadcast/streaming services between June 1, 2018, and September 30, 2019. ASC members are invited to submit one qualifying nominee for this category and the membership will vote on winners. The deadline for documentary category entries is October 1, 2019.

“The addition of the ASC Documentary Award demonstrates that we care deeply about our art form, and that we are actively seeking out exceptional cinematography deemed worthy of ASC recognition,” says ASC President Kees van Oostrum.

A complete timeline for the 34th ASC Awards, can be found here on the ASC website.

The ASC Awards ceremony is attended by more than 1,500 cinematographers, directors, producers, equipment manufacturers, studio executives and other motion-picture professionals.

You'll find complete coverage of the 33rd Annual ASC Awards here (with numerous clips from the program, including Lifetime Achievement Award honoree Robert Richardson, ASC (Kill Bill, The Hateful Eight, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood) being presented by longtime collaborator Quentin Tarantino.

Stay up to date with all ASC Awards announcements on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.


Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

Print Edition   Digital Edition
December 2022 AC Magazine Cover November 2022 AC Magazine Cover October 2022 AC Magazine Cover