ASC Announces 2022 Awards Nominees

Exceptional cinematography in competitive categories acknowledged by esteemed peers — winners to be announced on Sunday, March 20.

ASC Staff

Exceptional cinematography in competitive categories acknowledged by esteemed peers — winners to be announced on Sunday, March 20.
At top, Belfast, Dune, Nightmare Alley, The Power of the Dog and The Tragedy of Macbeth contend in the Feature Film category.

The American Society of Cinematographers has named its annual Outstanding Achievement Award nominees in the categories of feature film, documentary and television cinematography. Winners will be announced during the 36th ASC Awards on March 20, 2022. 

The ceremony will be a hybrid event, both in person and live streamed, at the historic ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood. 

Full announcement:

Below is a complete list of this year’s nominees by category:

Documentary Award
Jessica Beshir for Faya Dayi
Isabel Bethencourt and Parker Hill for Cusp
Daniel Schönauer and Jan Haft for The Hidden Life of Trees
Category Sponsored by Sony

Spotlight Award
Ruben Impens, SBC for Titane
Pat Scola for Pig
Adolpho Veloso, ABC for Jockey
Category Sponsored by Panavision

Feature Film
Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for The Tragedy of Macbeth
Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS for Dune
Dan Laustsen, ASC, DFF for Nightmare Alley
Ari Wegner, ACS for The Power of the Dog
Haris Zambarloukos, BSC, GSC for Belfast
Category Sponsored by Keslow Camera

Motion Picture, Limited Series or Pilot Made for Television
Steve Annis for Foundation | Pilot Episode: “The Emperor’s Peace”
Tim Ives, ASC for Halston Episode: “The Party’s Over”
James Laxton, ASC for The Underground Railroad | Episode: “Chapter 9: Indiana Winter”
Christophe Nuyens, SBC for Lupin | Pilot Episode: “Chapter 1”
Ben Richardson, ASC for Mare of Easttown Episode: “Illusions”
Category Sponsored by ARRI

Episode of a One-Hour Series Non-Commercial Television
Stuart Biddlecombe for The Handmaid’s Tale | Episode: “The Wilderness”
David Garbett for Sweet Tooth | Episode: “Big Man”
David Greene, ASC, CSC for Chaplewaite | Episode: “The Promised”
Jon Joffin, ASC, CSC for Titans | Episode: “Souls”
Boris Mojsovski, ASC, CSC for Titans | Episode: “Home”
Kate Reid, BSC for The Nevers | Episode: “Hanged”
Category Sponsored by Panavision 

Episode of a One-Hour Series Commercial Television
Thomas Burstyn, CSC, NZSC for Snowpiercer | Episode: “Our Answer for Everything”
Tommy Maddox-Upshaw, ASC for Snowfall | Episode: “Weight”
Ronald Paul Richard for Riverdale | Episode: “Chapter Eighty-Nine: Reservoir Dogs”
Brendan Steacy, CSC for Clarice | Episode: “Silence is Purgatory”
David Stockton, ASC for Mayans M.C. | Episode: “The Orneriness of Kings”
Gavin Struthers, ASC, BSC for Superman & Lois | Episode: “Heritage”
Category Sponsored by Red Digital Cinema

Episode of a Half-Hour Series Television
Marshall Adams, ASC for Servant | Episode: “2:00”
Michael Berlucchi & Marc Carter for Mythic Quest | Episode: “Backstory!”
Adam Bricker for Hacks | Episode: “There is No Line”
Paula Huidobro for Physical | Episode: “Let’s Get Together”
Jaime Reynoso, AMC for The Kominsky Method | Episode: “And it’s Getting More and More Absurd”
Category Sponsored by Picture Shop

Many of this year’s nominees talked about their work as a part of our ASC Clubhouse Conversations interview series.

Last year’s ASC winner in the Feature Film category was Erik Messerschmidt, ASC for Mank, who went on to win the Academy Award for Best Achievement in Cinematography.

Our Spotlight Award — which recognizes exceptional cinematography in independent, foreign or art-house-type films — went to Aurélien Marra for Two of Us.

The 2021 ASC Documentary Award went to Michael Dweck and Gregory Kershaw for The Truffle Hunters.

You’ll find our complete report on last year's Awards event (with numerous video clips) here. And you can download a PDF copy of our 35th Annual Awards Program book here (view in two-page mode).

Join us for the 36th Annual ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography on March 20. Check back for details on viewing our livestream of the ceremony here.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover