ASC members Vilmos Zsigmond and Haskell Wexler.

ASC Calls For 2016 Student Heritage Award Nominees

ASC Staff

ASC members Vilmos Zsigmond and Haskell Wexler.
ASC members Vilmos Zsigmond and Haskell Wexler.

The American Society of Cinematographers is inviting college instructors to recommend eligible students for consideration in the 2016 ASC Vilmos Zsigmond Student Heritage Award competition and the 2016 ASC Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award competition. These honors — overseen by Student Awards Chairman Isidore Mankofsky, ASC — are designed to inspire the next generation of cinematographers and to help them pursue their dreams. They also celebrate the memories of two of the Society's most extraordinary members.

Eligible student nominees must be in undergraduate or graduate school or have graduated within the past year (see complete Rules of Entry with the respective entry forms below). A jury of ASC members will choose the winners. Nominations will be announced in September 2016 and the winners will be revealed at the ASC Student Heritage Award celebration on Saturday, October 15, 2016 at the ASC Clubhouse in Hollywood.

Vilmos Zsigmond, ASC, HSC was one of the Society’s most distinguished members. In 1978, he earned an Academy Award for Close Encounters of a Third Kind and received additional nominations for The Deer Hunter, The River and The Black Dahlia. For many years, Zsigmond served on the ASC Board of Governors. In 1998, he was honored with the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award.

Haskell Wexler, ASC earned an Academy Award in 1966 for Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? and a second Oscar in 1976 for Bound for Glory. He received additional nominations for One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (shared with Bill Butler, ASC), Matewan and Blaze. In 1969, Wexler wrote, directed and shot Medium Cool, which is studied by film students worldwide for its breakthrough cinéma vérité style. He began his career shooting documentaries and was a passionate documentary filmmaker throughout his lifetime. Wexler was an active member of the ASC Board of Governors for many years. In 1992, he was honored with the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award.

In 2003, a survey conducted by the International Cinematographers Guild, both Zsigmond and Wexler were ranked among the 10 most influential cinematographers in history.

The deadline for entries is noon, Monday, May 9, 2016.

ASC Vilmos Zsigmond Student Award Entry Form and Rules

ASC Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award Entry Form and Rules

If you have questions, contact Patty Armacost at 323-969-4333 ext. 103.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover