ASC Clubhouse

ASC Elects 2014-’15 Officers

ASC President Richard Crudo and the Board will continue their efforts to inspire the next generation of filmmakers.

ASC Staff

ASC President Richard Crudo and the Board will continue their efforts to inspire the next generation of filmmakers​.
ASC President Richard Crudo (Photo by Owen Roizman, ASC)

The ASC Board of Governors elected its 2014-2015 officers last night: President Richard Crudo; Vice-Presidents Owen Roizman, Kees van Oostrum and Lowell Peterson; Treasurer Matthew Leonetti; Secretary Fred Goodich; and Sergeant-at-Arms Isidore Mankofsky. Leonetti was newly elected; all of the other officers were re-elected.

“I'm profoundly humbled that my colleagues have once again chosen me to serve in this position,” said Crudo. “The ASC is stronger than ever, and we look forward to continuing our mission of promoting the role of the cinematographer. To be part of that in even a small way is both an honor and a privilege.”

The members of this year’s Board of Governors, elected in May, are John Bailey, Bill Bennett, Curtis Clark, Dean Cundey, George Spiro Dibie, Richard Edlund, Michael Goi, Leonetti, Stephen Lighthill, Daryn Okada, Michael O’ Shea, Peterson, Rodney Taylor, Van Oostrum and Haskell Wexler. The alternates are Mankofsky, Karl Walter Lindenlaub, Robert Primes, Steven Fierberg and Kenneth Zunder.

Crudo and the board will continue their efforts to inspire the next generation of filmmakers through a varied slate of initiatives, including the Heritage Awards for student cinematographers, Breakfast Club seminars, and the popular premium subscription Friends of the ASC.

Born and raised in Brooklyn, N.Y., Crudo began his film career as an assistant cameraman. As a director of photography, he has shot a wide range of theatrical, television and commercial productions. Among his feature credits are Federal Hill, American Buffalo, American Pie, Music from Another Room, Outside Providence, Down to Earth, Out Cold, Grind and Brooklyn Rules. He currently shares cinematography duties with Francis Kenny, ASC, on the popular FX series Justified.

Crudo also serves on the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, and as chairman of the Academy’s Cinematographers Branch.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover