News

ASC Master Class Online Launches Oct. 30  SOLD OUT!

The Society announces beginning of Online Master Class series, a three-day online seminar with live interactions and Q and A with some of the world’s top cinematographers.

ASC Staff


UPDATE: THIS SESSION IS SOLD OUT


The American Society of Cinematographers is delighted to announce the beginning of our Online Master Class series, a three-day, web-based seminar with live interactions and Q&A with some of the world’s top working cinematographers.  Derived and adapted from our signature in-person Master Classes, the first online class will be held between Friday, Oct. 30, and Sunday, Nov. 1.  


The class size will be limited to 30 participants.


Confirmed instructors* include ASC members (seen at top of page, from left):


Larry Fong — 300, Watchmen, Super 8 and Kong: Skull Island
M. David Mullen — Two-time Emmy Award winner for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Lawrence Sher — The Hangover Trilogy, Oscar and ASC Award nominee for Joker


The planned curriculum — including pre-recorded lighting demonstrations, selected film clips, live instruction and interactive discussion periods — is designed to last about 3.5 hours per day, with each session starting at 8:00 AM Pacific Standard Time (11:00 AM New York; 4:00 PM London; 5:00 PM Berlin; 8:30 PM Mumbai; 11:00 Beijing). 


The program will include:


• Welcome address by ASC member describing this new online Master Class format.
• Presentations by ASC instructors followed by Q&A sessions, allowing students to address specific areas of interest or gain further detail.
• Lighting demonstration — set up, shooting, editing and color grading — live-narrated by the on-set DP
• Deep-dive discussions on influential films of artistic significance, curated by ASC instructors. (To be viewed by students prior to session.)
• Participation with ASC Ambassadors — members in addition to primary event instructors — in break-out rooms for discussions and daily social sessions.
• Panel discussions with ASC members on select topics.
• Presentations by leading equipment manufacturers
• Registration is now open for students worldwide.  All instruction will be in English and conducted via Zoom.


The price of participation in this three-day event is $750 USD, paid by Monday, October 26.


A complete, final day-to-day schedule will be emailed to participants on Wednesday, October 28.


The in-person ASC Master Classes will resume when health conditions permit.  Attendees at the online Master Class will also be given a 10% discount on a future in-person Master Class. 


REGISTER NOW — this event will sell out.  UPDATE: THIS SESSION IS SOLD OUT


* While confirmed, all instructors will participate based on availability.





Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover