ASC Presents 2019 Student Heritage Awards 

The three winners were honored during a ceremony held at the historic ASC Clubhouse on the night of Saturday, October 12.

ASC Staff

Rising talent from AFI, BYU and Florida State University recognized for their artful cinematography.

At top, from left, are winner Lucas Dziedzic; Student Award Chair David Darby, ASC; winner Oscar Ignacio Jimenez; winner Jazleana Jones.

The ASC announced this year’s Student Heritage Award winners at a ceremony held at the historic ASC Clubhouse on the night of Saturday,, October 12. Three student filmmakers were singled out from 12 nominees for demonstrating exceptional cinematography skills in their submitted work. The 2019 winners are:

Richard H. Kline Student Heritage Award – Graduate Category
Lucas Dziedzic from the American Film Institute for Animals

Richard H. Kline Student Heritage Award – Undergraduate Category
Oscar Ignacio Jimenez from Brigham Young University for Gather 

Haskell Wexler Student Documentary Award
Jazleana Jones from Florida State University for King, Charles

This year’s awards were named for (from left) ASC greats Richard H. Kline and Haskell Wexler.

“After watching the work from all the nominees, it was exciting to see how the next generation of filmmakers visually interprets stories for the screen,” says ASC President Kees van Oostrum. “Our winners took a genuine approach to telling stories that evoked a range of emotions, impressing the jury of ASC members. Their mastery of the art and craft of cinematography is inspiring.”

Numerous past ASC Student Heritage Awardees have gone on to successful careers in filmmaking and several are now ASC members themselves, including Nelson Cragg, Masanobu Takayanagi, and Lisa Wiegand.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

May 2024 AC Magazine Cover
April 2024 AC Magazine Cover
March 2024 AC Magazine Cover