Donald A. Morgan, ASC to Be Inducted Into the Television Academy Hall Of Fame

The cinematographer will be honored alongside luminaries Debbie Allen, Ken Burns, Bob Daly, Robert L. Johnson and Rita Moreno.

ASC Staff

Cinematographer Donald A. Morgan, ASC is one of six television legends who will be inducted into the Television Academy 26th Hall of Fame. The event will take place Wednesday, Nov. 16, at the Television Academy’s Saban Media Center and includes the unveiling of new busts of previous inductees, the induction of the 2022 Hall of Fame recipients, and the presentation of the Bob Hope Humanitarian Award to actor-director-activist Sean Penn.

An 11-time Emmy winner, Morgan built a long-lasting career as director of photography and lighting designer on series including Good Times, The Jeffersons, Three’s Company, Mr. Belvedere, The Golden Girls, Home Improvement, The Ranch and The Connors. 

The Mr. Belvedere pilot won an Emmy Award in 1985, and director of photography George Spiro Dibie (far right) insisted that Morgan (far left) share the prize for his exceptional work.

Morgan was honored with the ASC Career Achievement in Television Award in 2020.

The Television Academy’s Hall of Fame honors persons who have made outstanding contributions in the arts, sciences or management of television over a lifetime career or via singular achievements.

The other 2022 honorees are:

Debbie Allen – The six-time Emmy-winning director-choreographer has had a celebrated career spanning three decades, starring in hit series including Fame and in the Broadway revival of West Side Story. She has also worked extensively behind the scenes with legendary artists and on popular television series, including Scandal and How to Get Away with Murder.

Ken Burns – The 16-time Emmy winner has been making exceptional documentary films for more than 40 years, earning acclaim for his work that includes: The Civil War, Baseball, The Vietnam War, The National Parks: America’s Best Idea, The Central Park Five and, most recently, The U.S. and the Holocaust.

Bob Daly – The television executive and entertainment industry visionary began his career at age 18 at CBS, becoming their first president of entertainment and continuing his association with the network over the span of 25 years. He then led Warner Bros. to record successes in the 1980s-1990s, leading the teams behind record-breaking television series including Friends and ER, pioneering the creation and use of DVDs, and creating The WB Network.

Robert L. Johnson – As the founder of Black Entertainment Television (BET), Johnson changed the face of television with the creation of the nation’s first Black-owned cable television network. In 1991, BET became the first black-owned company traded on the New York Stock Exchange. In 2007, USA Today named Johnson one of the “25 Most Influential Business Leaders of the Past 25 Years.” In 2014, Johnson entered the streaming programming business with the launch of ACORN TV, British mysteries, and drama, and ALLBLK, Black-oriented series and movies.

Rita Moreno – The acclaimed actress and EGOT winner has countless credits from more than seven decades in the entertainment industry, starring in critically acclaimed series including The Electric Company, Sesame Street, Nine to Five, Oz, Cane, Happily Divorced, Jane the Virgin, and the Latinx reimagining of Norman Lear’s beloved classic One Day At A Time. Moreno’s career accolades also include the Presidential Medal of Freedom from President George W. Bush, the National Medal of Arts from President Barack Obama, the Screen Actors Guild Life Achievement Award, the Life Achievement Award from the Kennedy Center Honors and the Peabody Award.

“These legendary performers, creators, craftspeople and television executives are luminaries in our industry. Their work has influenced and immeasurably elevated the current television landscape and culture,” said Frank Scherma, chairman and CEO of the Television Academy. “We are proud to induct these trailblazers into the Hall of Fame and honored to celebrate their extraordinary contributions to our industry.”

“This year’s honorees have told the American story through television in ways that will forever shape our history and culture,” said Rick Rosen, Hall of Fame Selection Committee chair. “Whether they reshaped the industry itself through visionary leadership or created pieces of work that have had a lasting legacy, these individuals will forever be remembered for the impact they’ve had on the medium; and the Television Academy is proud to enshrine that.”

The 2022 Hall of Fame honorees join more than 150 individuals previously inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1984. The coveted honor has been bestowed upon actors, comedians, directors, producers, costume designers, writers, animators, executives, reporters, and various other individuals whose work in television has no equal.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover