John Bailey, ASC Re-Elected President of AMPAS

The cinematographer and author of John’s Bailiwick blog is elected for his second term.

Samantha Dillard

The cinematographer and author of John’s Bailiwick blog is elected for his second term.

ASC member John Bailey has been re-elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences by the organization’s Board of Governors

Bailey is beginning his second term as president and his 15th year as an AMPAS governor representing the Cinematographers Branch, which is also represented by ASC members Daryn Okada and Mandy Walker

Others who were elected to the Board include:

Lois Burwell, First Vice President (chair, Awards and Events Committee)  
Sid Ganis, Vice President (chair, Museum Committee) 
Larry Karaszewski, Vice President (chair, Preservation and History Committee)
Nancy Utley, Vice President (chair, Education and Outreach Committee)
Jim Gianopulos, Treasurer (chair, Finance Committee) 
David Rubin, Secretary (chair, Membership and Administration Committee) 

Academy board members may serve up to three consecutive three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive years in any one office.

Bailey — whose credits include Ordinary PeopleThe Big ChillGroundhog Day and As Good as It Gets — became the first cinematographer to hold the position of AMPAS president in 60 years when he was elected last year

He is also author of John’s Bailiwick blog, which has been published by the ASC since 2009 and focuses on diverse topics relating to the arts. 

Bailey was honored with the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award in 2015.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover
April 2024 AC Magazine Cover