ASC’s Roger Deakins and James Friend Win at 2020 IMAGO Awards

Chris Menges, ASC, BSC honored with Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cinematography; AC received award for Extraordinary Contribution to the Art of Cinematography.

ASC Staff

Chris Menges, ASC, BSC was honored with the Award for Lifetime Achievement, and American Cinematographer received award for Extraordinary Contribution to the Art of Cinematography. 

Roger Deakins, ASC, BCS and James Friend, ASC, BSC each took home awards at the 3rd IMAGO International Awards for Cinematography, presented by the International Federation of Cinematographers (IMAGO).

Deakins won the award for Best Cinematography for Feature Film for his work on the World War I drama 1917. His work on the picture also garnered the ASC Award, Academy Award, and BAFTA, among others.


Friend’s work on the miniseries Patrick Melrose earned him the award for Best Cinematography for Television Drama. For his work on the miniseries, Friend has also been honored with an ASC Award; a BSC Silver Camera Award; the 2018 Camerimage award for First Look — TV Pilots; and more.

Patrick Melrose

Chris Menges, ASC, BSC was recognized with the 2020 IMAGO Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cinematography for his work on such features as The Killing Fields, The Mission, Michael Collins, The Boxer, North Country and The Reader (which was co-photographed by colleague Deakins). 

This video was created to honor his exceptional career:

Chris Menges, ASC, BSC

The other winners included:

Best Cinematography for Documentary
Fejmi Daut, MSC and Samir Ljuma, MSC for Honeyland

Best Cinematography for Emerging Young Cinematographer
Holger Jungnickel for LIMBO

Best Cinematography for Student Film
Casper van Oort for Sisters

See all of the nominees here.

The event also included a special tribute to famed camera designer Jean-Pierre Beauviala, who passed on April 8. 2019 at the age of 81. 

Beauviala was a key player in cinema technology for the past half-century — an extraordinary technologist, designer, inventor, and the founder of the camera manufacturer Aaton. He holds some 50 patents in film, video and audio technology, and was honored by the ASC in 2018 with a Certificate of Recognition, presented in person by President Kees van Oostrum, ASC.

This reel was created by IMAGO in Beauviala’s honor:

The IMAGO International Award for Extraordinary Technical Achievement was presented to Johan Hellsten for the creation of the Easyrig support system:

American Cinematographer was honored for 100 years of publishing with a special award for Extraordinary Contribution to the Art of Cinematography:

Astrid Heubrandtner AAC was presented with the IMAGO International Honorary Member Award. Since 2009 she has been the president of the AAC, representing Austria at IMAGO where she was a guiding member of the Master Class Committee from 2007 until 2019 organizing five amazing IMAGO “Inspiration” international Cinematographers Forums, alongside her Committee colleagues.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

May 2024 AC Magazine Cover
April 2024 AC Magazine Cover
March 2024 AC Magazine Cover