The Movie Teller (2023), shot by Daniel Aranyó, AEC and directed by Lone Scherfig.

The Movie Teller Wins Inaugural ASC Award for Cinematography at SBIFF

Spanish cinematographer Daniel Aranyó, AEC is among the filmmakers honored at 39th annual Santa Barbara International Film Festival.

ASC Staff

The American Society of Cinematographers partnered with the Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF, held Feb. 7-17) to establish the ASC Award for Cinematography, and the inaugural award went to The Movie Teller, shot by Daniel Aranyó, AEC for director Lone Scherfig.

Daniel Aranyó, AEC

ASC President Shelly Johnson announced Aranyó’s win during the SBIFF Awards Breakfast presentation ceremony held on Feb. 17 at the Belmond El Encanto Hotel.

The ASC jury at SBIFF included members (from left) Jaron Presant, Shelly Johnson and Patti Lee — with AC editor-in-chief Stephen Pizzello — and Tommy Maddox-Upshaw. (Photo by Delphine Figueras)

Here the complete SBIFF press release regarding all their 2024 winners:

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF) is excited to announce the award-winning films for the 39th edition. Awards were announced at a ceremony this morning hosted by El Encanto, a Belmond Hotel, in Santa Barbara with Jury and Filmmakers in attendance.

“We are so grateful to our dedicated group of jurors for their fine selections,” said SBIFF’s Programming Director Claudia Puig. “The winning films tell stories that span the globe, from the magic of movie palaces in the Atacama Desert to the stunning mystery of ice caves in Antarctica to the social hazards of cancel culture in Indonesia. All are riveting tales told with verve and originality. We at SBIFF are thrilled to congratulate this year’s jury award winners.

The winning films were chosen by jury members Lesley Chilcott, Alex Keledjian, Chris Landon, Lael Loewenstein, Jacqueline Lyanga, David Magdael, Gail Mancuso, Greg Nava, Pituka Ortega Heilbron, Carla Renata, Gil Robertson, Ondi Timoner, Clay Tweel, and Ali Wolfe

Audience Choice Award sponsored by The Santa Barbara Independent: Transmexico directed by Claudia Sanchez

Panavision Spirit Award for Independent Cinema: Edge of Everything directed by Sophia Sabella and Pablo Feldman (Comes with a prize of a $60,000 camera rental package from Panavision)

Jeffrey C. Barbakow Award – Best International Feature Film: Andragogy directed by Wregas Bhanuteja

Best Documentary Award: Diving Into the Darkness directed by Nays Baghai

Nueva Vision Award for Spain/Latin America Cinema: The Blue Star (La estrella azul) directed by Javier Macipe

Best Nordic Film Award: Before It Ends (Når befrielsen kommer) directed by Anders Walter

Social Justice Award for Documentary Film: The Last Daughter directed by Brenda Matthews and Nathaniel Schmidt

The ASC Award for Cinematography sponsored by The American Society of Cinematographers: The Movie Teller directed by Lone Scherfig

ADL Stand Up Award, sponsored by ADL Santa Barbara/Tri-Counties: The Last Daughter directed by Brenda Matthews and Nathaniel Schmidt

Best Documentary Short Film Award: A Man's Man directed by Myles Desenberg (Now eligible for the 2025 Academy Awards)

Bruce Corwin Award – Best Live-Action Short Film: Area Boy directed by Iggy London (Now eligible for the 2025 Academy Awards)

Bruce Corwin Award – Best Animated Short Film: On The 8th Day (Au 8ème Jour) directed by Agathe Sénéchal, Alicia Massez, Elise Debruyne, Flavie Carin and Théo Duhautois (Now eligible for the 2025 Academy Awards)

The 39th Santa Barbara International Film Festival took place LIVE February 7 - February 17, 2024. Official events included screenings, filmmaker Q&As, industry panels, and celebrity tributes, held throughout the city, including at the historic Arlington Theatre.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover