ASC Announces 2024 Awards Nominees

El Conde, Killers of the Flower Moon, Maestro, Oppenheimer and Poor Things selected in Feature Film category.

ASC Staff

LOS ANGELES (Jan. 11, 2024) — The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) revealed its 2024 Outstanding Achievement Award nominees in feature film, documentary, television and music video categories. Winners will be announced during the 38th Annual ASC Awards ceremony on March 3, 2024, at The Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, Calif. The event will be live streamed worldwide at

Below is a complete list of this year’s nominees by category:

THEATRICAL FEATURE FILM NOMINEES (Category sponsored by Keslow Camera)
Edward Lachman, ASC for El Conde (Netflix)

Matthew Libatique, ASC, LPS for Maestro (Netflix)

Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC for Killers of the Flower Moon (Apple TV+)

Robbie Ryan, BSC, ISC for Poor Things (Searchlight)

Hoyte van Hoytema, ASC, FSF, NSC for Oppenheimer (Universal Pictures)

SPOTLIGHT AWARD (Category sponsored by Panavision)
Eric Branco for Story Ave. (Kino Lorber)
Krum Rodriguez for Citizen Saint
Warwick Thornton for The New Boy

EPISODE OF A ONE-HOUR REGULAR SERIES (Category sponsored by Panavision)
Ricardo Diaz for Winning Time: The Rise of the Lakers Dynasty, “The Second Coming” (Max)
Rob C. Givens for Gotham Knights, “Daddy Issues” (CW)
M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, “Four Minutes” (Prime Video)
Cathal Watters, ASC, ISC for Foundation, “In Seldon’s Shadow” (Apple TV+)
Glen Keenan, CSC for Star Trek: Strange New Worlds, “Hegemony” (Paramount+)

Dan Atherton for Great Expectations, “Episode 3” (FX)
Sam Chiplin for The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart, “Part 1: Black Fire Orchid” (Prime Video)
Ben Kutchins, ASC for Boston Strangler (Hulu)
Igor Martinovic for George and Tammy, “Stand by Your Man” (Showtime)
Jason Oldak for Lessons in Chemistry, “Book of Calvin” (Apple TV+)
Tobias Schliessler, ASC for All the Light We Cannot See, “Episode 2” (Netflix)

EPISODE OF A HALF-HOUR SERIES (Category sponsored by Nanlux Americas)
Julian Court, BSC for The Diplomat, “The James Bond Clause” (Netflix)
Carl Herse for Barry, “Tricky Legacies” (Max)
Jon Joffin, ASC for Schmigadoon!, “Something Real” (Apple TV+)
Blake McClure, ASC for Minx, “I Thought the Bed was Gonna Fly” (Starz)
Andrew Wehde for The Bear, “The Bear” (FX)

DOCUMENTARY AWARD (Category sponsored by RED Digital Cinema)
Jeff Hutchens for Murder in Big Horn, “Episode 1” (Showtime)
Curren Sheldon for King Coal
D. Smith for Kokomo City (Magnolia Pictures)

MUSIC VIDEO AWARD (Category sponsored by Unreal Engine)
Scott Cunningham, ASC for “Gorilla” (performed by Little Simz)
Jon Joffin, ASC for “At Home” (performed by Jon Bryant)
Andrey Nikoleav for “Tanto” (performed Cassie Marin)


This year’s Awards honorees were announced on Nov. 28: Don Burgess, ASC, Steven Fierberg, ASC and Amy Vincent, ASC.

You'll find more information about the 38th Annual ASC Awards here.

Last year’s ASC feature film winner was Mandy Walker, ASC, ACS for Elvis. All winners here and you can watch our entire 37th Annual Awards ceremony here:

About the ASC
The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is a professional organization dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking. Since its charter in 1919, the ASC has been committed to educating aspiring filmmakers and others about the art and craft of cinematography. For additional information about the ASC, visit or join American Cinematographer on Facebook, X/Twitter and Instagram (@the_asc) and (@american_cinematographer).

Media Contacts:
ignite strategic communications
Sally Christgau, [email protected]
Chris Purse, [email protected]

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

May 2024 AC Magazine Cover
April 2024 AC Magazine Cover
March 2024 AC Magazine Cover