Camerimage 2019 Highlights with Honors for Sher, Richardson and Bailey

Cinematographers converged on Toruń, Poland, on November 9-16 for this global celebration of expert motion-image making.

Stephen Pizzello

President Kees Van Oostrum accepts the festival’s award honoring the ASC's centennial.

Cinematographers converged on Toruń, Poland, from November 9-16, for this global celebration of expert motion-image making.

Photos by Stephen Pizzello unless otherwise noted.

Following the Nov. 9 opening ceremony — during which ASC president Kees Van Oostrum accepted an award commemorating the Society’s centennial and announced its new association with IMAGO — the 27th annual International Film Festival of the Art of Cinematography Camerimage played host a series of exceptional events in and around the historic Polish city of Toruń.

Natasha Braier, ASC, ADF makes the Camerimage scene with journalist Carolyn Giardina from The Hollywood Reporter.

Other ASC members attending the festival this year included John Bailey, Natasha Braier, Rodney Charters, Caleb Deschanel, Ed Lachman, Denis Lenoir, Stephen Lighthill, Julio Macat, Steven Poster, Robert Richardson, Roberto Schaefer, Lawrence Sher, Dante Spinotti, Vittorio Storaro, Robert Yeoman and Bradford Young.

Vittorio Storaro, ASC, AIC checks his notes.

In photos courtesy of Jean De Montgrand of DMG Lumiere/Rosco, Society members offer some personal lighting with a Rosco Mixbook digital swatchbook:

Bradford Young, ASC
Roberto Schaefer, ASC, AIC
Julio Macat, ASC
Dante Spinotti, ASC, AIC

American Cinematographer was represented at the event by editor-in-chief/publisher Stephen Pizzello, who was joined by longtime contributors David Heuring and Benjamin B and writers Daniel Eagan and Loretta Prevost.

From left, David Heuring, Benjamin B and Stephen Pizzello all participated in panels and presentations during the fest. (Photo by Anna Gudbrandsdottir)

On Nov. 12, a party teaming American Cinematographer with Leitz Cine Wetzlar and Rosco Laboratories was famously epic, bringing together ASC members with cinematographers and others filmmakers from around the globe:

Participating in the “100 Years” panel were (from left) ASC members Caleb Deschanel, Roberto Schaefer, John Bailey and Robert Yeoman, joined by AC’s Stephen Pizzello. (Photo by Anna Gudbrandsdottir)

On Nov. 14, the AC panel “100 Years of ASC Cinematography,” drew a full house and enthusiastic reviews at the Cinema City multiplex. The two-hour session, moderated by AC senior European correspondent Benjamin B, featured clips from iconic films shot over the decades by ASC members, along with commentary by Society members John Bailey, Caleb Deschanel, Roberto Schaefer and Robert Yeoman, as well as AC editor-in-chief and publisher Stephen Pizzello. 

(Photo by Anna Gudbrandsdottir)

On Nov. 15, the Turner Classic Movies (TCM) documentary Image Makers: The Adventures Of America’s Pioneer Cinematographers — directed and edited by Daniel Raim and produced by Raim and ASC member Curtis Clark — screened to a packed house. The documentary, which premiered Nov. 6 on TCM as part of a month-long salute to the ASC’s centennial, profiles seven innovative and influential cinematographers: Billy Bitzer, William Daniels, ASC; James Wong Howe, ASC; Charles Rosher, ASC; Karl Struss, ASC; Gregg Toland, ASC and Roland Totheroh, ASC. 

From left, Image Makers director-editor-producer Daniel Raim and interview subject John Bailey discuss the project.

Following the screening, Raim and ASC member John Bailey, who is featured as an interview subject in the documentary, engaged in a lively Q&A.

At far left, James Wong Howe, ASC stands by while shooting The Thin Man (1934).

Greta Garbo surrenders lovingly to William H. Daniels, ASC’s camera for the pre-code talkie Romance (1930).

On Nov. 16, during the festival’s closing ceremony and awards presentation, Lawrence Sher, ASC earned the Golden Frog in the Main Competition for his stellar cinematography in Joker, which also won the Audience Award. This was the first time the same film took both prizes.

The Silver Frog went to César Charlone, ABC for The Two Popes, and the Bronze Frog was presented to Vladimir Smutný for The Painted Bird.

(A complete list of winners can be found here.)

John Bailey, ASC and Quentin Tarantino observe the ceremony and prepare to take the stage.

During the same event, ASC members John Bailey and Robert Richardson were honored with career-achievement awards. 

Bailey was presented with the Golden Frog Lifetime Achievement Award, appearing onstage with one of his American Gigolo collaborators, actor Richard Gere, who received the festival’s career-achievement award for acting.

A visibly moved Bailey thanked the festival organizers and reserved special praise for his longtime wife, Oscar-nominated editor Carol Littleton, who accompanied Bailey to the ceremony.

Richardson appeared onstage with director Quentin Tarantino, with whom he received the Cinematographer-Director Duo Award for their contributions to cinema on six feature collaborations: Kill Bill Vol. I, Kill Bill Vol. II, Inglorious Basterds, Django Unchained, The Hateful Eight and their most recent, Once Upon a Time In Hollywood.

Richardson and Tarantino take questions.

The 27th Camerimage Festival came to a close with the event’s director, Marek Żydowicz, thanking the event’s assembled honorees, staffers and volunteers.

The festival wraps with a thank you to the entire event staff, which makes everything possible.

Pizzello congratulates Sher on his Golden Frog win. (Photo courtesy of a friendly Camerimage attendee.)

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover
April 2024 AC Magazine Cover