2020 Emmy Winner Update

Over the course of four nights of "virtual presentations" for the Creative Arts Emmy Awards, the following winners were announced in five categories, with the final Emmy to be awarded on Sept. 19.

ASC Staff

At top (clockwise from top left): Life Below Zero, The Ranch, Watchmen and The Mandalorian.

ASC members Gary BaumPaul CameronJeff CronenwethGreig FraserJonathan FreemanAdriano GoldmanXavier Perez GrobetPatti LeeErik MesserschmidtGregory MiddletonDonald A. Morgan, M. David MullenArmando Salas and John Simmons earned 72nd Annual Primetime Emmy nominations for their expert camerawork, as announced by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences on July 28

Over the course of four nights (Sept. 14-17) of online “virtual presentations” for the Creative Arts Emmy Awards — mandated by safe social-distancing practices — the following winners were announced in five categories:

Outstanding Cinematography For A Multi-Camera Series
The Ranch • “It Ain't My Fault” • Netflix  
Donald A. Morgan, ASC

Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series (Half-Hour)
The Mandalorian • “Chapter 7: The Reckoning” • Disney+
Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS; Baz Idoine

Outstanding Cinematography For A Limited Series Or Movie
Watchmen • “This Extraordinary Being” • HBO
Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC

Outstanding Cinematography For A Reality Program
Life Below Zero • “The New World” • National Geographic
Michael Cheeseman, Danny Day, Dwayne Fowler 

Outstanding Cinematography For A Nonfiction Program
The Cave • National Geographic
Muhammed Khair Al Shami, Ammar Suleiman, Mohammed Eyad

The winner in the sixth Creative Arts Emmy category — Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series (One Hour) — will be presented on Saturday, Sept. 19, and televised on FXX at 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT.

And the nominees are:

The Crown • “Aberfan” • Netflix
Adriano Goldman, ASC, BSC, ABC

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel • “It's Comedy Or Cabbage” • Prime Video

M. David Mullen, ASC

Mindhunter • “Episode 6” • Netflix 

Erik Messerschmidt, ASC

Ozark • “Boss Fight” • Netflix

Armando Salas, ASC

Ozark • “Civil Union” • Netflix

Ben Kutchins 

Tales From The Loop • “Loop” • Prime Video

Jeff Cronenweth, ASC

Westworld • “Parce Domine” • HBO

Paul Cameron, ASC 

In the category of Outstanding Directing For A Drama Series, Alik Sakharov, ASC earned a nomination for the Ozark episode “Fire Pink,” while Andrij Parekh, ASC earned a nomination for the Succession episode “Hunting.” The winner will be announced on Sept. 20 during the 72nd Emmy Awards, which will be broadcast at 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT, on ABC.

You'll find the complete list of nominees in all cinematography categories here, with a link through to all nominees in every Emmy category.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover
April 2024 AC Magazine Cover