2020 Emmy Noms for Best Cinematography Include 14 ASC Members

Expert cinematography is recognized in six camera categories. In the craft categories, the graphic-novel-based series Watchmen earned the most nominations (15; it was also the most-nominated with 26 in total).

ASC Staff

Expert cinematography is recognized in six camera categories.

Society members Gary Baum, Paul CameronJeff CronenwethGreig FraserJonathan Freeman, Adriano Goldman, Xavier Perez GrobetPatti LeeErik MesserschmidtGregory MiddletonDonald A. Morgan, M. David MullenArmando Salas and John Simmons earned 72nd Annual Primetime Emmy nominations for their camerawork, as announced by the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences this morning. 

In the category of Outstanding Directing For A Drama Series, Alik Sakharov, ASC earned a nomination for the Ozark episode “Fire Pink,” while Andrij Parekh, ASC earned a nomination for the Succession episode “Hunting.”

(Download a complete list of nominees in all categories here.)

In the craft categories, the graphic-novel-based series Watchmen earned the most nominations (15; it was also the most-nominated with 26 in total), followed by Star Wars series The Mandalorian (12) and the comedic period drama The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (10). Leading the nominations in totals by platform were Netflix (160, a new record), while HBO came in second place (107).

Here are all the nominees in the five categories for camerawork:

Outstanding Cinematography For A Multi-Camera Series

Bob Hearts Abishola • “Ice Cream For Breakfast” • CBS
Patti Lee, ASC

Family Reunion • “Remember Black Elvis?” • Netflix
John Simmons, ASC

The Ranch • “It Ain't My Falt” • Netflix
Donald A. Morgan, ASC

Will & Grace • “Accidentally On Porpoise” • NBC
Gary Baum, ASC

Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series (Half-Hour)

The End Of The F***ing World • ”Episode 2” • Netflix
Benedict Spence

Homecoming • “Giant” • Prime Video  
Jas Shelton

Insecure • “Lowkey Happy” • HBO  
Kira Kelly

Insecure • “Lowkey Lost” • HBO
Ava Berkofsky

The Mandalorian • “Chapter 7: The Reckoning” • Disney+
Greig Fraser, ASC, ACS; Baz Idoine

Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series (One Hour)

The Crown • “Aberfan” • Netflix
Adriano Goldman, ASC, BSC, ABC

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel • “It's Comedy Or Cabbage” • Prime Video
M. David Mullen, ASC

Mindhunter • “Episode 6” • Netflix
Erik Messerschmidt, ASC

Ozark • “Boss Fight” • Netflix
Armando Salas, ASC

Ozark • “Civil Union” • Netflix
Ben Kutchins 

Tales From The Loop • “Loop” • Prime Video
Jeff Cronenweth, ASC

Westworld • “Parce Domine” • HBO
Paul Cameron, ASC 

Outstanding Cinematography For A Limited Series Or Movie

Defending Jacob • “After” • Apple TV+
Jonathan Freeman, ASC

Devs • “Episode 7” • FX Networks
Rob Hardy, BSC

The Plot Against America • “Part 1” • HBO
Martin Ahlgren

Watchmen • “Little Fear Of Lightning” • HBO
Xavier Perez Grobet, ASC, AMC 

Watchmen • “This Extraordinary Being” • HBO
Gregory Middleton, ASC, CSC

Outstanding Cinematography For A Nonfiction Program

American Factory • Netflix
Erick Stoll, Aubrey Keith

Apollo 11 • CNN
Buzz Aldrin, Michael Collins

Becoming • Netflix
Nadia Hallgren 

The Cave • National Geographic
Muhammed Khair Al Shami, Ammar Suleiman, Mohammed Eyad

Sea Of Shadows • National Geographic
Richard Ladkani 

Serengeti • “Rebirth” • Discovery Channel
Richard Jones, Michael W. Richards, Warren Samuels, Matthew Goodman

Outstanding Cinematography For A Reality Program

Cheer • “Hit Zero” • Netflix
Melissa Langer, Erynn Patrick

Life Below Zero • “The New World” • National Geographic
Michael Cheeseman, Danny Day, Dwayne Fowler 

Queer Eye • “We're In Japan!: Japanese Holiday” • Netflix
Garrett Rose

RuPaul's Drag Race • VH1 •
Michael Jacob Kerber; (camera operators) Jon Schneider, Jay Mack Arnette II, Mario Panagiotopoulos, Gregory Montes, Brett Smith, David McCoul, Justin Umphenour

Survivor • CBS • MGM Television
Peter Wery, Scott Duncan, Russ Fill; (camera) Tim Barker, Marc Bennett, James Boon, Paulo Castillo, Rodney Chauvin, Luke Cormack, Lee Doig, Ben Gamble, Kevin B. Garrison, Nixon George, Rick Higgs, Derek Hoffmann, Matthias Hoffmann, Toby Hogan, Derek Holt, Efrain "Mofi" Laguna, Ian Miller, Nico Nyoni, Ryan O'Donnell, Jeff Phillips, Louis Powell, Thomas Pretorius, Erick Sarmiento, Dirk Steyn, John Tattersall, Paulo Velozo, David Alan Arnold; (director of ariel photography) Christopher Barker; (ariel camera operators) Granger Scholtz,, Nicholas Van Der Westhuizen

Final-round voting for the Emmys begins Aug. 21 and runs through Aug. 31.

The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be handed out in virtual ceremonies "over several nights in September."

The 72nd Emmy Awards, will be broadcast at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on Sept. 20 on ABC.

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover