ASC Awards Feature and Television Nominees Revealed

Winners will be named at the awards gala on February 9. Good luck to all our nominees!

ASC Staff

Above: From the 31st ASC Awards, held in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. The ceremony is attended by some 1,600 honorees, nominees, guests and supporters from the motion-picture industry. At top, from left, are nominees Alfonso Cuarón, Robbie Ryan, Matthew Libatique, Łukasz Żal and Linus Sandgren.

The American Society of Cinematographers today announced the nominees for all five competitive categories of the 33rd Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards

The announcement was livestreamed on the ASC’s Facebook page.

Winners will be named at the awards gala on February 9 in the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

This year’s Awards will not only honor the most artful cinematography of 2018 but will also celebrate the ASC’s 100th anniversary. 

This year’s nominees are: 

Theatrical Release

Alfonso Cuarón for Roma
Matthew Libatique, ASC for A Star is Born
Robbie Ryan, BSC, ISC for The Favourite
Linus Sandgren, ASC, FSF for First Man
Łukasz Żal, PSC for Cold War

Spotlight Award

Joshua James Richards for The Rider
Giorgi Shvelidze for Namme
Frank van den Eeden, SBC, NSC for Girl

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television

Gonzalo Amat for The Man in the High Castle, “Jahr Null”
Adriano Goldman, ASC, ABC, BSC for The Crown, “Beryl”
David Klein, ASC for Homeland, “Paean to the People”
Colin Watkinson, ASC for The Handmaid’s Tale, “The Word”
Cathal Watters, ISC for Peaky Blinders, “The Company”
Zoë White, ACS for The Handmaid’s Tale, “Holly”

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television

Nathaniel Goodman, ASC for Timeless, “The King of the Delta Blues”
Jon Joffin, ASC for Beyond, “Two Zero One”
Ben Richardson for Yellowstone, “Daybreak”
David Stockton, ASC for Gotham, “A Dark Knight: Queen Takes Knight”
Thomas Yatsko, ASC for Damnation, “A Different Species”

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television

James Friend, BSC for Patrick Melrose, “Bad News”
Mathias Herndl, AAC for Genius: Picasso, “Chapter 1”
Florian Hoffmeister, BSC for The Terror, “Go for Broke”
M. David Mullen, ASC for The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (Pilot)
Brendan Steacy, CSC for Alias Grace, “Part 1”

• This is the first ASC Award nomination for Alfonso Cuarón. 

• This is Libatique’s second nomination. His first was for Black Swan. 

• First-time nominees: Ryan, Klein, Watkinson, Watters, White, Goodman, Richardson, Yatsko, Friend, Mullen and Steacy.

• Sandgren was nominated in 2017 for La La Land. He went on to win the Academy Award.

• Żal was previously nominated and won in the Spotlight category for Ida — also directed by Pawel Pawlikowski. He shared the award with Ryszard Lenczewski, PSC.

• All Spotlight nominees are first-timers. 

• Amat and Goldman were both nominated last year for the same shows. Goldman won, and also earned the Emmy this year for his work on the period series.

• This is Joffin’s third nomination — previously honored for The Andromeda Strain and Alice

• This is Stockton’s sixth nomination. He won for the Eleventh Hour pilot and was later nominated for the Nikita pilot and the series Chase, Alcatraz and Gotham.

• Herndl won last year for Genius (“Einstein: Chapter 1”). 

• Hoffmeister previously won for PBS Masterpiece presentation of Great Expectations.

As previously announced, this year’s honorees include Robert Richardson, ASC (Lifetime Achievement Award) and Jeffrey Jur, ASC (Career Achievement in Television Award).

A full report on the 32nd Annual ASC Awards can be found here, complete with video clips from the event.


Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

July 2024 AC Magazine Cover
June 2024 AC Magazine Cover
May 2024 AC Magazine Cover