2020 ASC Student Heritage Awards Accepting Submissions, Deadline Extended to Dec. 1, 2020

Society invites U.S. film schools to recommend three eligible students per category for consideration in this year’s competition.

The American Society of Cinematographers is pleased to invite U.S. film schools to recommend three eligible students per category for consideration in the 2020 ASC Student Heritage Awards competition. These awards are designed to inspire the next generation of cinematographers and to help them pursue their dreams.

To qualify for eligibility, students must be in undergraduate or graduate school, or have graduated within the past year, and have been pre-selected by their respective schools. The EXTENDED ENTRY DEADLINE is December 1, 2020. A jury of ASC members will choose the winners. Nominations will be announced on January 12, 2021. Winners will be announced on Saturday, February 27, 2021.

The ASC Student Heritage Awards celebrates the memory of the Society's most extraordinary members.  Each year, the awards are re-named in honor of esteemed ASC members. This year’s Undergraduate Award honors Allen Daviau, ASC. 

Allen Daviau, ASC on location in China shooting Empire of the Sun (1987).

Daviau built an inspiring career photographing such features as E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial, Twilight Zone: The Movie, The Falcon and the Snowman, The Color Purple, Empire of the Sun, Avalon, Bugsy, Fearless and Van Helsing. Among other honors, Daviau earned five Academy Award nominations and two ASC Awards. Allen was an active member of the ASC Education Committee, frequently welcoming film students to the Clubhouse for roundtable discussions. Additionally, he served as a long-time chair of the ASC Membership Committee. In 2007 he was the recipient of the Society’s Lifetime Achievement Award.

The ASC Graduate Award recognizes Michael Chapman, ASC. 

Michael Chapman, ASC (on right) with Martin Scorsese and Robert De Niro during the filming of Raging Bull (1980).

An influential figure in the New Hollywood that emerged in the 1970s, Chapman shot more than 40 feature films. He was twice nominated for Academy Awards for the films Raging Bull and The Fugitive. Other notable credits include The Last Detail, The White Dawn, Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Fingers, The Last Waltz, The Wanderers, Dead Men Don’t Wear Plaid, Primal Fear, and Taxi Driver. In 2004 he was honored with the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award.

The ASC’s Student Documentary Award is named for Haskell Wexler, ASC. 

Haskell Wexler, ASC shooting his political drama Medium Cool (1969).

He won an Academy Award in 1966 for Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolfand a second Oscar in 1976 for Bound for Glory. He received additional nominations for One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (a nomination shared with Bill Butler, ASC), Matewan and Blaze. In 1969 he wrote, directed and shot the political drama Medium Cool, which is studied by film students worldwide for its breakthrough cinéma vérité style. He began his career shooting documentaries and was a passionate documentary filmmaker throughout his lifetime. He was an active member of the ASC Board of Governors for many years. In 1992 Haskell was honored with the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award.

For official rules of entry and details on how your school may submit your best cinematography students, please email [email protected], or call 818-523-0519.


Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

Print Edition   Digital Edition
December 2022 AC Magazine Cover November 2022 AC Magazine Cover October 2022 AC Magazine Cover