ASC Announces Feature Film Nominees for 34th Annual Awards

​Five nominees in the Theatrical Release category and three nominees in the Spotlight Award category were revealed at the ASC Clubhouse today.

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has nominated eight feature films in the Theatrical and Spotlight categories of the 34th ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards. Winners will be named at the organization’s annual awards on January 25 at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. 

The announcement was made at the ASC Clubhouse this afternoon by Awards Committee Chair Don McCuaig, ASC.

This year’s nominees are: 

Theatrical Release
Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for 1917

Phedon Papamichael, ASC, GSC for Ford v Ferrari

Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC for The Irishman

Robert Richardson, ASC for Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Lawrence Sher, ASC for Joker

Spotlight Award
Jarin Blaschke for The Lighthouse

Natasha Braier, ASC, ADF for Honey Boy

Jasper Wolf, NSC for Monos

This is Deakins’ 16th nomination by the Society, which has sent him home a winner four times (The Shawshank Redemption, The Man Who Wasn’t There, Skyfall, Blade Runner 2049). 

Richardson earns his 11th nomination, while Papamichael and Prieto each have been recognized three times in the past by the organization. 

Sher, Blaschke, Braier and Wolf are first-time nominees. 

Deakins and Richardson have also been honored with ASC Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Last year’s Theatrical winner was Łukasz Żal, PSC for Cold War, which was also Oscar-nominated for Best Cinematography.

The Spotlight Award recognizes cinematography in features that may not receive wide theatrical release. The accolade was first presented in 2014 to Żal and Ryszard Lenczewski for Ida, which won the Oscar for Best Foreign Language Film.

Last year’s Spotlight Award winner was Giorgi Shvelidze for Namme.

You'll find a complete story on the the 33rd Annual ASC Awards here, featuring numerous video clips from the ceremony.


Read More

Subscribe Today

Act now to receive 12 issues of the award-winning AC magazine — the world’s finest cinematography resource.

Print Edition   Digital Edition
December 2022 AC Magazine Cover November 2022 AC Magazine Cover October 2022 AC Magazine Cover